What™s in the Food Safety Standard ?

The BRC Food Safety Standard can be used by any food processing operation where open food is handled, processed or packed. This could be from primary products such as fresh produce pack houses and slaughterhouses through to processed foods, canneries and ready to eat products. We™ve designed the BRC Food Safety Standard to help you establish good manufacturing practices so you™ll produce safe, legal products that meet the quality levels expected by your customers.

The Standard is divided into seven sections:

1. Senior Management Commitment and Continual Improvement

For any food safety system to be effective it™s essential the senior management team is fully committed to its application and continued development.

2. The Food Safety Plan (HACCP)

The basis for the Food Safety System is an effective HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) program based on the requirements of the internationally recognised Codex Alimentarius system.

3. Food Safety and Quality Management System

Sets out requirements for the management of food safety and quality, building upon the principles of ISO 9000. This includes requirements for product specifications, supplier approval, traceability, and the management of incidents and product recalls.

4. Site Standards

Sets out expectations for the production environment including the layout and maintenance of the buildings and equipment, cleaning, pest control, waste management and foreign body controls.

5. Product Control

Includes the requirements for product design and development stage including allergen management, product and ingredient provenance, product packaging and product inspection and testing.

6. Process Control

Includes the establishment and maintenance of safe process controls, weight/volume control and equipment calibration, and ensures the documented HACCP plan is put into practice.

7. Personnel

Sets out the standards needed for staff training, protective clothing and personal hygiene.

Benefits of BRC Food Safety Certification


Individual consumers, consumer advocate groups, and governments are demanding safe, quality food. In response to this demand, increasing numbers of retailers and food service providers are mandating that their suppliers receive third-party certification with a Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) approved scheme. The BRC Global Standard for Food Certification aims to:

  •  Promote best practices
  •  Improve supplier standards and consistency, and avoid product failure
  •  Eliminate multiple audits of food manufacturers
  •  Support retailer objectives at all levels of the manufacturing supply chain
  •  Provide concise information to assist with due diligence defense

If a supplier gains certification against the BRC Global Standard for Food Safety, it assures the customer that they are dealing with a company that reaches high levels of competence in all critical areas. They will know that their supplier is monitoring and continually improving their product quality, safety and legality, and that they have taken every possible precaution to prevent problems should there ever be a challenge made against a product. The certification audit report will be one of the documents an enforcement authority would require from a retailer or brand owner to demonstrate that their supplier was competent to produce a safe and legal product. The BRC Standard meets the strong need to preserve the integrity of branded products. The BRC Global Standard for Food Safety is a single verification that ensures both the fulfillment of legal